AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Meet Muse Spark Open: Meta’s Open-Weight Frontier AI Model on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Meta has released Muse Spark Open, an open-weight multimodal model aimed at agentic coding. Its model description lists 816 billion total parameters, about 42 billion active per token and a context window of up to one million tokens; deployment still requires memory for the full model. Independent performance results, licensing terms and the release date are not provided in the source material.

Meta has released Muse Spark Open, an open-weight model designed for coding agents that can take text, image, audio and video input. Its published model description lists about 816 billion total parameters, around 42 billion active per token and a context window of up to one million tokens, but the supplied material does not include independent results showing how well it performs.

The model is built around a mixture-of-experts architecture. According to the model description on Hugging Face, its layers contain 256 experts, with a routing system selecting eight for each token. The Muse Spark Open model accepts multimodal input but produces text, allowing a developer to submit material such as a screenshot, voice note or screen recording alongside a coding request.

Meta describes Muse Spark Open as trained for developer workflows including reading codebases, multi-file refactors and extended debugging. The company’s description says the model can plan tasks, take actions, observe results and correct its work, including when browsing the web with images. These are stated capabilities and intended uses, not independently verified performance findings in the supplied source.

The release lists two checkpoint formats: BF16 and NVFP4. The BF16 files total about 1.5 terabytes in safetensors format. The source says running BF16 inference in Transformers requires four nodes, each with eight H200 GPUs, while NVFP4 is designed for a single B200 node. It describes the four-bit NVFP4 version as having negligible accuracy loss, but supplies no measurements or test conditions to support that claim.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Release reported in the supplied source…
The developmentMeta released Muse Spark Open, a multimodal open-weight model designed for long-running coding-agent tasks.
At a glance
announcementWhen: Released; the source material does not…
The developmentMeta released Muse Spark Open, a large open-weight model built for coding tasks and able to process text, images, audio and video.

Hardware Shapes Access to Spark

Muse Spark Open combines open weights, multimodal input and a coding-agent focus, giving developers the option to evaluate it on tasks that connect code with visual or audio material. For example, teams could test whether a model can use a screen recording or screenshot as part of a debugging request rather than relying only on a written description. Whether that approach improves real work depends on accuracy, reliability and operating cost, none of which are quantified in the source material.

The model’s scale also limits who can readily run it. Although about 42 billion parameters are active per token, the full 816 billion parameters still need to be held in memory. The source estimates a BF16 key-value cache for a one-million-token context at about 266 gigabytes, in addition to the memory required for the weights. The advertised context length and active-parameter count therefore do not make the model a lightweight local download.

For developers, the release creates an opportunity to inspect and test published checkpoints, subject to their applicable terms. But access to weights is not the same as evidence of capability: teams still need to measure quality, latency, hardware requirements and cost against their own workloads before choosing to deploy it.

Amazon

high performance GPU for AI development

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Spark Fits Meta’s Model Line

Muse Spark Open is presented as the larger model in Meta’s Muse series. The supplied material says Muse Glimmer was released in August as a smaller, dense model intended for local use; it does not specify the year. Spark uses a mixture-of-experts design and adds multimodal input. The two models share a tokenizer and vocabulary, according to the source.

The model description lists a 62-layer language model with a hidden dimension of 8,192, alongside separate image and video perception components and audio encoders. Images and video frames are processed by the perception encoder, while audio is converted into tokens at a stated rate of 12.5 per second. The one-million-token limit applies to text and multimodal tokens in the same context, according to the description. These architecture details explain how input is represented, but do not establish how accurately the model interprets it.

The source points to checkpoint repositories named Muse-Spark-Open-816B-A42B and Muse-Spark-Open-816B-A42B-NVFP4. It also refers to deployment recipes for Transformers, llama.cpp, vLLM and SGLang, as well as fine-tuning guidance. Those resources give prospective users routes to try the model, while leaving practical evaluation to developers.

“The model has about 816 billion total parameters, with roughly 42 billion active for each token.”

— Muse Spark Open model description on Hugging Face, as summarized by the supplied source

Amazon

multimodal AI model hardware requirements

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Performance and Usage Terms Unreported

The supplied material does not provide independent benchmarks, comparative coding scores or reliability evaluations for extended agentic tasks. It also does not establish whether the model outperforms other coding models, how well it handles particular image, audio or video inputs, or what results users should expect in production.

The source does not state the release date, license or full use and redistribution terms. Those details matter to organizations deciding whether they may deploy, adapt or share the checkpoints. The claim that NVFP4 has negligible accuracy loss is also not accompanied by test results or conditions in the material provided. Hardware estimates are described, but actual performance and cost may vary with the deployment setup and workload.

Amazon

large memory GPU for AI inference

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Testing the Published Checkpoints

Developers can use the cited checkpoint repositories and deployment recipes to test Muse Spark Open on their own coding and multimodal tasks. Useful evaluation would compare its results with other models on representative work while recording accuracy, reliability, speed and hardware cost, including the resource demands of long contexts.

The supplied source announces no separate next milestone or follow-up date. Further assessment will depend on access to the applicable license and on reproducible evaluations that clarify the NVFP4 trade-offs and performance across coding, image, audio and video workloads.

Amazon

AI developer workstation with 1TB RAM

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What is Muse Spark Open?

Muse Spark Open is an open-weight multimodal model designed for coding-agent workflows. It accepts text, images, audio and video, and generates text.

How large is the model?

The model description lists about 816 billion total parameters, with roughly 42 billion active per token. The active count does not remove the need to store the full model weights for deployment.

Can it run on a standard personal computer?

The supplied hardware figures point to substantial multi-GPU requirements, not ordinary personal-computer deployment. The BF16 files total about 1.5 terabytes; the source describes NVFP4 as designed for a single B200 node.

Has Muse Spark Open been shown to outperform other coding models?

Not in the supplied material. It provides no independent benchmark results or comparative coding scores, so claims about relative performance remain unverified here.

What is still unknown about access?

The source does not state the model’s license, full usage terms or release date. Those details are relevant to commercial deployment, modification and redistribution.

Primary source: Hugging Face · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

RoundupForge: The Data Layer

RoundupForge, developed privately and not publicly available, is a data layer that automates product deduplication and ranking across 21 Amazon marketplaces, enhancing trustworthiness in large-scale product roundups.

Kimi K3, Qwen 3.8, And Anthropic’s (Potential) Unravelling

Recent developments suggest potential instability for Kimi K3, Qwen 3.8, and Anthropic, raising questions about their future in AI research and deployment.

The Skills Marketplace Nobody Is Building Yet

A new portable skills layer is emerging in AI, with open standards and directories but lacking a marketplace. This gap could reshape AI ecosystems.

Should You Use Mistral Forge? A Buyer’s Decision Guide

Evaluate if Mistral Forge suits your needs with this comprehensive decision guide, focusing on data sovereignty, technical capacity, and use case fit.